# **AGENDA**

# ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Date: Tuesday, 19 May 2015

Time: 7.00 pm

Venue: Main Hall, UK Paper Leisure Club, Avenue of Remembrance, Sittingbourne, Kent,

**ME10 4DE** 

Quorum = 16

**Pages** 

# 1. Prayers

The Mayor's Chaplain will say prayers, after which the Mayor will welcome guests to the meeting.

# 2. Apologies for absence

The Chief Executive will announce any apologies for absence from Members.

### 3. Presentation to Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen

In accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, a resolution must be passed by not less than a two-thirds majority of the Members voting. The Council are accordingly requested to pass the following resolution:

"That this Council in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended, do confer upon Alan Willicombe, Jean Willicombe and Steve Worrall the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman in recognition of the valuable service given to the Council by those Members as past Members of the Council".

The past Members will be called forward to be presented with their plaque and scrolls.

#### Presentation to Past Members

The Mayor will present past Members Richard Barnicott, Sylvia Bennett, Jackie Constable, Mick Constable, John Coulter, Ed Gent, Martin McCusker, Gareth Randall, Pat Sandle, David Sargent, Adam Tolhurst, Nick Williams and Tony Winckless who have served at least one full term of office, with their scrolls.

#### 5. Appointment of Mayor

To confirm the appointment of Councillor Anita Walker as Mayor for the civic year 2015/16.

The Mayoral party will now retire for re-robing.

#### 6. Forthcoming Mayoral Year

The new Mayor will outline the forthcoming Mayoral year, including their chosen charities.

## 7. Vote of thanks to retiring Mayor

A vote of thanks will be given to the retiring Mayor, Councillor George Bobbin and the retiring Mayoress, Mrs Brenda Bobbin.

The retiring Mayor is invited to say a few words about their Mayoral Year and to present gifts.

## 8. Appointment of Deputy Mayor

To confirm the appointment of Councillor Lesley Ingham as Deputy Mayor for the civic year 2015/16.

## 9. Appointment of Mayor's Cadet

The Mayor will announce the appointment of her Cadet for the forthcoming civic year 2015/16 and will present the Cadet with the official badge.

#### 10. Appointment of Mayor's Chaplain

The Mayor will announce the appointment of her Chaplain for the forthcoming civic year 2015/16.

#### 11. Concluding Prayers

The Mayor's Chaplain will say prayers, after which guests and members of the public are asked to remain standing whilst the official party withdraws.

Members are reminded that the Annual Council meeting will reconvene tomorrow evening, Wednesday 20 May 2015 at 7pm in the Council Chamber, Swale House, to conclude its business.

The reports included in Part I of this agenda can be made available in **alternative formats**. For further information about this service, or to arrange for special facilities to be provided at the meeting, **please contact DEMOCRATIC SERVICES on 01795 417330**. To find out more about the work of the Council, please visit www.swale.gov.uk

Corporate Services Director, Swale Borough Council, Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT